Richard Scott Blog: 18th December 2022

Selwyn sent me a lovely picture of one of the Candy Pool pillows at his home in Plettenberg Bay. I had to share it with you to start this colorful blog.

Angelina was here for the 1st week of the school holidays, so that was really nice to have her around. Monday morning we woke up to no electricity. So I put the little gas stove on and made us some percolated coffee. Afterwards I saw Joanne off to work.

Then I made myself some toast in the pan on the same gas fire. Then I sat down and did the usual Monday stuff like emails and banking and sales reports.

Joanne and I were chatting to Bertus Basson at Chrous on Thursday this week (see below) and Joanne asked him who does all his admin and even he said he does it himself like I do.

Angelina passed her learners license on the first go on Monday. Yeah we have another UBER driver now.

Making ends meet. LOL

I also got stuck into the final bits and pieces for Plettenberg Bay on Monday afternoon. There is a POP UP shop at The Junction Hotel and Coffee Bar. 17 Main Road Plett. POP IN and go see Chad. He is manning the POP UP.

Tuesday I drove into work and dropped Joanne off. I bought her a coffee from Tamboers Winkel and this time I bumped into Martin Epstein. Martin is an avid Cyclist and was also 100 or so guys fitter than me when I did Epics. I also wanted to be like Martin. LOL Just Kidding. Martin is also a huge supporter of South African art. In the early days he was also one of those collectors who could see something in me and he invested heavily into my art and career.

Meet Martin who created Art Gazette

Angelina came with me to town and I treated her and Dean to a breakfast and a coffee. Dean was in his own car as he dropped Daniella at work. She got a job wateriness at Vovo Telo in The Waterfront. Dean joined us as I was going to take him to Coney Collective to look at his new Floating Bed that Dean made for him. After he chose his base colour I dropped Angelina off at Wilscha, as I bought her a voucher for a facial for her birthday. She loved it as Wilscha is the best.

Coney Collective

After Angelina was finished, i picked her up and then I treated Angelique and Chad to a Staff Lunch on Tuesday Afternoon. I gave them the choice of choosing. I can see someone has taste as the Chose The Grand Beach in the Waterfront. We ended up ordering the Sea Food Platter. You have no other choice when your in such a cool place and on a beach by the sea.

My daughter insisting on paying for 2 key rings.

Afterward we picked Joanne up and Dropped Angelina at her friend Timnah as she was off to Timnah’s Beach Party. We headed home and just chilled and had an early night.

Wednesday was my 54th years young Birthday. Joanne and the kids spoiled me. Joanne got me to write a list of things I wanted for my birthday. I don’t want for anything at my age but a managed to think of a few things I needed. Joanne got me a ticket to go see Sting in February. So looking forward to shaking his hand and having a conversation with him. She also go me a nice pair of Polo shorts and a big packet of Lindt white chocolate, my favorite after Terry’s Choclate Orange. The kids got me some coffee beans and a Terry’s Orange Chocolate (LOL).

Angelina asked me earlier in the week for some pics of me and her on my phone. I didn’t know why, but she bought a nice photo frame and pic a nice pic of us in it. Here are some of the pictures I sent her:

Wednesday afternoon Joanne treated us all to a High Tea in the Leopard Bar at The 12 Apostles as a family for my Birthday. As High Tea’s go there was too much food. It was great to have everyone there bar Richie, as he was in Mauritius for a 6 week holiday.

Happy family

Thursday Chad headed off to Plett for the PLETT POP UP which runs from 16th December to 4th January. We packed the Caddy Van to the brim and off he went on the 6hr drive to Plett.

Joanne had to run into town for a few hours work and I used the opportunity to do a few prints once I saw Chad off. Thursday the 15th was considered the last working day of the year hear in South Africa.

Big John from Woodstock Brewery sent some pictures of the lunch we raised funds for. A nice breakfast for the elderly at his Church. Here’s the pics:

Joanne got home around 11:30 and we rushed off to Chorus. Bertus Basson’s new restaurant. It was my Birthday treat from Joanne. We were both so exhausted from the weeks activities to date but it was so worth it and also to catch up with our good friend Bertus.

Celebrating life, experiencing every thing possible, on the edge

In the week I made Joanne a Richard Scott Backgammon board and gave it to her just as we left. We play so much Backgammon, we might as well enjoy it in full colour. This is us playing on the deck once we got back from Chorus.

The day ran away with us as the kids arrive for supper. We played some charades and Dean ended up teaching Daniella how to play Backgammon on Joannes new Richard Scott board. The electricity went out for the 3rd time in one day from more than 2hrs, so we played by candle light.

Richard Scott Restaurant open-up soon

We had an early night and headed to bed exhausted.

Friday was Reconciliation Day in South Africa: It was established by the government in 1994. Nelson Mandela was part of the group of politicians that helped start the idea for the holiday. On 16 December 1995, the first celebration took place. The first meeting of the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission also took place on 16 December 1995.

We took the opportunity to sleep in and get some well deserved rest because the afternoon and evening were jam packed until 11pm that night.

I had an opening at You&i Art Gallery on Kloof street, Friday 2-5pm.

The famous Henry

Straight after the exhibition with Henry Angelina invited us to watch the Nutcracker Ballet at the Artscape. That only started at 7pm so we had 2hrs to kill. We popped over the road to the Indian Maharajah and met up with James again, our waiter. We kept it simple. The food there is delicious.

We got to the Artscape around 7pm and were all truly exhausted. None the less the show was unbelievable. Gee Whizz, those ballet dancers. Wow they sure can dance. Angelina hung out with her friends in the back seats and we rattled our jewelry a little closer to the front. Do you know where that saying comes from? We got home at 11pm and collapsed into bed.

Sometime Friday Auto Vivendi posted a few pictures of the their Club House in London. I took the liberty to screen shot them from Instagram and show you. Its the world best Supercar Club and one of the owners Richard Thomas is one of the best friend I can count on my 2 hands.

Saturday we got up late and headed out to Checkers to do the weekly grocery shopping. Angelina came with cos she had arranged with 30 of her friends to have a big pool party in the Richard Scott Pool. I’d been warming it up since Wednesday for them. They all came in drips and draps from about 12pm and we cooked them all some burgers and they did the rest and enjoyed the day. Super cool as a dad to be able to provide like that and also to see the Richard Scott Pool been put to use now that summer is here.

Simple but oh so delicious. Richard Scott copies Bertus Basson

After all the kids left we were planning on an early night then Joanne and I had another disagreement. We promised each other and yet we had a fall out. Such silly pathetic things we disagreed on. Phuckit. I even grabbed Dean’s coffee and threw it in the drain thinking it was hers. I need to go back to see Nadia, my therapist, as she taught me so much. Perhaps its a case of going regularly. I thought I was cured. clearly NOT. Basically like a car that needs a service now and again. I extracted myself from the so called Drama circle and went to bed early. I didn’t allow myself to book it down to end of year stress. Lets see what Nadia says. And I need to apologies to Dean for soiling his coffee and and and.

Sunday I got up at 7am and got stuck into reading on the deck. I haven’t had coffee for 2 days. I’ve gone off it weirdly.

,So there I was on the deck staring at the sea and I thought Phuckit; Its Sunday and I’m officially on holiday so read read read. I managed to get through the third quarter of THE CRYPTO BOOK by Siam Kidd. I plan on finishing about 4 books over the next 3 weeks. Joanne is reading a book that Annie Malan gave me, when Angelique and I went to go see her in Johannesburg, called Passing the Torch by Ilze Alberts. She keeps giving me updates every 10 minutes as she discovers something new about Passing the (financial) Torch to your kids.

So I just dropped Angelina off at home. We took the Vespa it was such a nice day. She’s off to Bonnievale for a few days with her mom and her friends.

When I got home I opened up a bottle of Steenberg Cap Classic. It’s my new favorite Champagne. I’m having a glass on the deck while i type this to you.

Have a fantastic week. Next Sunday is Christmas.

See you then

r i c h a r d

One response to “Richard Scott Blog: 18th December 2022”

  1. Engel en ek sit op die stoep kyk oor d see met koffie en beskuit.. het al die fotos op jou blog baie geniet..ook van Angelina…en jy en Joanne is n pragtige paartjie..
    Geniet die feestyd en ry versigtig.🍸🍾.πŸ€—πŸ‘

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started