Richard Scott : 12th June 2022

Hello

I did well with Wordel this week and got the word in 3 goes twice.

Monday was pretty boring and I opted to do all my admin as I knew this week was going to go quick with a planned trip to Hermanus on Tuesday and Johannesburg on Thursday and Friday.

The kids are all over the place with exams. Richie with Flight Planning and Angelina with Math, English and Dance. I cant keep up. Angelina said she waxed the Math exam. It was Trig. Trig was my favorite subject as I loved working out the angles so she must get that from me. While Richie re-writes Flight Planning in Mossel Bay next week as he missed the pass mark by 1 point. Quite strict in the Aviation world with a pass mark being at 75%. At least he gets to fly to Mossel Bay in FOH.

Gus Silber sent me and Mark Gold a list of Questions to answer for the Richard Scott – Mark Gold collaboration press release. So I had to do some thinking. I will keep you in the loop on this and let you know whats going on before the rest of the world hears.

Early Tuesday morning I bumped into Tony Colemen. He is a wonderful gentleman I met on the ABSA Cape Epic. Tony recently completed his first epic after 3 attempts. Such a wonderful achievement as we did lots and lots of riding together to train for the epic.

Tony Always buys me coffee when we bump into each other at Tamboerswinkel

On Tuesday I did a road trip to the galleries in Hermanus with Angelique. We stopped over at Bengeula Cove where a new gallery has opened up on the premises. It really is an amazing place for sunny weekend days. We caught up with Charlene and then headed to meet up with Theo and Jay at Walker Bay Gallery to talk shop and Hermanus Art Week. We spoke about releasing a new series of Richard Scott Bronze sculptures and Theo immediately ordered 10 of my 3d Prints when I showed them to him.

Angelique and I outside Bengeula Cove
Jay steers the ship at Walkerbay Gallery
3D Prints Off to Walkerbay Hermanus

After this we drove to Joshua Rossouw’s beautiful hideaway in the mountains of Hemel en Arde for a wonderful afternoon lunch. Joshua treated us to a wonderful Tuna salad and home made malva pudding and of course wonderful company. A small amount of business was spoken and the rest was life and laughs.

View of Hemel and Arde form Joshua’s Balcony

It was a nice drive back with Angelique and she dropped me off in Tyger Valley and I UBER’d from there. I decided to try BOLT for the first time and it was only R190 compared to R360 for the UBER. Anyway, on the way home the BOLT driver Xolie’s  petrol light came on and I told him to pull into the Engen at Sunset Beach and I filled up his tank for him. I have never seen someone so happy. I felt good. It made me happy as well. So money can make you happy, if you give it away. So we got chatting and his father owns a funeral parlour in the Eastern Cape and sent him to private school and now he owns 2 cars that he uses to fund his lifestyle. What a beautiful story. He was telling me his dad only gave him an education. Everything else he worked for himself and he was only 25. Sounds like me, only I grew up in the rough end of Kempton Park in Johannesburg.

One happy Bolt driver Xolie

Wednesday, I had a mad rush to get some prints done. My Canon Printer needed a new print head and an ink well and 5 new cartridges all at once. That was R30 000 later and then the prints were turning pink. I was panicking and I had to meet Selwyn at the Shop at 12.30. I called Andre my supplier and he suggested a Print Head Clean. It did the trick. So easy when you know how. The prints were done on time and shipped to the respective galleries and collectors. I was about to throw the reject pink prints in the bin when I thought to rather release them as a series. The only problem is I only printed 3 so now I will have to redesign the actual print in pink, not candy or I can release them as a series of 3 at a higher price- your thoughts?.

My print table with R30 000 worth of replacements and Pink Reject Candy Prints

Selwyn popped into the shop at 12:30 sharp Wednesday with a lady called Donne. She heads up conservation efforts for various people including Mark Boucher’s conservation foundation. Between the 3 of us we decided to look into the Richard Scott Wildlife Conservation Series. So, the planning will start and I will keep you posted. Selwyn, as Selwyn does, never leaves the shop empty handed and walked away with 20+ prints that he will auction off for his own charities, predominantly the South African Golf Caddy Association. Selwyn also introduced me to Mrs Ruppert who will be hosting a golf day for 65 ladies and I created a beautiful print of a lady playing golf for the occasion which I am honoured to donate. Pics to follow.

My mom is doing well. She is home and walking about. I also opted not to do the Crypto Currency course just yet. I need to focus on The Road Sign Project and potentially the Conservation Series.

On Thursday I flew up to Johannesburg. I had 5 meeting and a parcel to hand deliver to a client who bought a print online. I sprayed the brown paper that I wrap my packages in just to add value and get yet another Richard Scott onto someones wall. My client was very happy.

Airport lounge life. I wouldn’t have it another way.

Secondary Market update:

I met with Russell Kaplan and his partners. We discussed collaborating together on a long term strategy in the auction market space. Detail to follow.

Meet Alexander. He heads up the Art department at Russell Kaplan Auctioneers

Friday morning, in Johannesburg, Andy and I had breakfast with Brett. Brett, like Andy is one of my best friends and mentors in life. We all grew really close as business partners in 2014 while working jointly on the Vespa Richard Scott Joyride project. But we grew even closer around 2018 as friends. We opened up to each other and to me that was a wonderful experience as a man. Men sharing there intimate feelings and emotions really helped me through my divorce.

Brett, Andy and me

After Breakfast and another meeting at Vespa, Andy drove me to Sale E Pepe Italian restaurant in Morningside and we had a seafood pasta for lunch which was delicious. Then we drove home to Andy’s and played backgammon. I lost R1000. Not to Andy but to Valia, his girlfriend. I did hedge my bets on the games she played with Andy and won R400 back. Intense stuff. Andy taught me how to play backgammon and now a day does not go by where Joanne and I don’t play either backgammon or rummy.

I also hung up the Vespa piece for Andy on Friday. He opted to hang it in his home in Sandton and not the Vespa store. It looks beautiful. Its made up of hand sprayed metal sheeting that is cut out with a water jet. Then I use magnets to stick the pieces to a backing plate. The magnets alone cost me R10 000 as they are Neodymium magnets and are super powerful. I even had to ship the magnets up as you are not allowed to take them on an aeroplane.

The Magnetic piece in its full glory.
A close up of the magnets holding it all together.

On Friday afternoon, Andy and I could’nt resist going back to Sale E Pepe. Gosh the food is the best. On par with Pane E Vino in Stellenbosch and Magica Roma in Pinelands. Weirdly enough all 3 restaurants are in such random basic places/shopping centres. Destination Stuff.

Valia, Andy and I outside Sale E Pepe. Why does my camera always take the photo backwards?

Most of this Blog was typed on the flight home. It was great to be home and to see Joanne Friday. It felt like we were apart for 2 years, not 2 days.

Saturday was spent as Saturdays are usually spent, lazing around the house and doing errands. Joanne and I made an awesome crab salad with chilli and cucumber and enjoyed the sun while it lasted.

Crab Salad with cucumber and chilli and some spare Jelapino in chilli oil in case it not HOT enough

Sunday was catch up. Property search, then beach run then cook cook cook. Joanne made a roast chicken and roast veg for lunch and I made a chicken pie and mushroom soup for tomorrow, if it lasts that long with Dean in the house!. I had to separate the mushrooms out of the chicken pie as Angelina doesn’t eat mushrooms. So mushroom soup for starters and chicken pie for main.

Joannes Roast potatoes were the best on the plate.

Ok, our tummy’s are full and time to lounge on the couch and do nothing.

Have a great week. Till next Sunday.

Richard

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started